Mindfulness


There is alot going around about mindfulness of late. The definition I found is “Mindfulness involves consciously bringing awareness to your here-and-now experience with openness, interest, and receptiveness… and without judgement.” http://www.thehappinesstrap.com/mindfulness.

I thought I’d let you know what mindfulness techniques I use on a regular basis. They may not be purely mindfulness techniques but a fushion blend of various tools combined together to suit me.

1. Oh there is a thought about………..(used when I have a disturbing or unpleasant thought that I tend  to judge myself for). Instead of focussing on the judgement and trying to change how I feel about the thought I  casually tell myself Oh, there is a thought about……  It can lesson the impact of the thought on me and often gets rid of it entirely.

2. Sometimes humour is good to use when thoughts I have are disturbing me. I sing “a changed version of that line from the old spice girls song “‘Stop’. “Stop right there thank you very much I don’t need that thought any more.

3.Thoughts don’t seem so bothersome when I see them as an image then shrink them, flip them upside down or spin them around in circles. I can play with them and laugh.

4. When a negative downpore of thoughts comes into my mind blaming me for something or worrying me constantly I try to override it with blah blah blah or just a huge STOP

Leave a Reply

