Art as a healing tool


I am sorry I haven’t been around for a several months. I have been travelling my journey and not felt I have had anything to share to benefit anyone. BUt today I feel I do so here it is.

I have personally found art a very healing tool after difficult times in my life and to continually use to stay positive and let myself be creative and expressive of my feelings when talking alone does not help me. I must explain I am NOT an artist. I am creative but have no training in art. I just use art to help me be happy and so can you! No talent in art  is required.

Don’t rush yourself, this time is for you and the process is the important aspect of art therapy not the result you see. I don’t always keep my art work. Sometimes if I am letting go of hurtful memories I actually rip up the paper I drew or wrote on and dispose of it.

Exercise 1 Some of you Australians will remember Mr Squiggle, how he had an upside down doodle that children sent in for him to complete. This is an amazing way to become creative. Try it but do it more simply. Fristly, doodle on a piece of paper. Secondly,  use that doodle to begin to draw a picture. It doesn’t need to look real, it can be symbolic. Don’t think too much, just draw what first comes to mind or just allow your pencil to lead you. THis is not about being a good artist, it is about being creative and letting yourself go. Notice any thoughts, feelings or ideas that come to mind. Anything that is a worry, tell yourself that now is the time to let it go because you will think about that later. Notice any thoughts or feelings that come up during the process.   At the end of the exercise write down anything that came up for you during the time.

Exercise 2 If you have paints you can use them for this exercise or water colour pencils. Otherwise textas, coloured pencils or crayons are fine. You may even like to put on a piece of muisc for this exercise. Grab the first colour that intrigues you and use that one. Close your eyes and begin to create on your paper. Be aware of the movement of your hand as you create. Notice any thoughts or feelings that come up during the process. Again at the end of the exercise write about your experience if you desire.

Exercise 3 Write down on your piece of paper a word or short sentence about how you are feeling or what you are thinking about, for example, angry, excited about wedding. THen take your colour medium (pencil, paint etc) and begin to allow yourself to express that thought or feeling on the page with symbols, doodles, pictures, more words, anything really. YOu may feel you need to change colour at any given time or write in pen or pencil. Do whatever helps you. IF listening to music helps do that. If part way through getting up and dancing, moving helps do that. There are no restrictions here just ideas for you to try.

After using even these three exercises regularly you can find that you are getting to know yourself and letting your hand guide you by way of your subconscious.

 

One thought on “Art as a healing tool

Leave a Reply

